Open Walls Arles 2019 - Winners showcase

Exposition du 1 juillet au 8 août 2019

Bienvenue à OpenWalls Arles, une exposition présentée par Le British Journal of Photography, en collaboration avec la Galerie Huit Arles.

OpenWalls Arles combine l'expertise du plus ancien titre de photographie au monde et la Galerie Huit Arles, une galerie établie située dans la ville  d'Arles. Unir nos forces pour créer OpenWalls était une collaboration naturelle, combinant les philosophies communes de ces deux institutions. Tous deux se sont engagés à défendre la photographie contemporaine - l'un dans les pages de sa revue historique et l'autre dans son cadre remarquable du 17e siècle.

 

OpenWalls a commencé par un appel ouvert aux photographes, à la recherche d'un travail répondant au thème Chez soi et loin. Chacune des 50 images présélectionnées dans cette exposition capture un sentiment d'appartenance, d'évasion et d'identité, et a été sélectionnée par notre jury composé de Geneviève Fussell, rédactrice photo senior au New Yorker, Julia de Bierre, directrice de galerie à la Galerie Huit Arles et Simon Bainbridge, directeur éditorial du British Journal of Photography, entre autres.

 

L’objectif de l’appel était de créer une exposition de groupe passionnante, positionnée au cœur d’Arles lors des Rencontres d’Arles, les images se rejoignent pour évoquer un sens du lieu puissant et varié. Trois finalistes ont été invités à Arles pour assister personnellement à cette exposition. Il s'agit de Gregory Michenaud, Louise Hagger et Urszula Tarasiewicz, et l'un d'entre eux sera annoncé comme le vainqueur d'OpenWalls Arles 2019 lors du vernissage de l'exposition.

&

Screen Shot 2021-01-10 at 4.01.13 PM.png

© Louise Hagger

Open Walls Arles 2019 - Winners showcase

Exhibition from 1st July to 8th August 2019

Welcome to OpenWalls Arles, an exhibition brought to you by British Journal of Photography, in collaboration with Galerie Huit Arles.

OpenWalls Arles combines the expertise of the world’s longest running photography title, and Galerie Huit Arles, an established gallery situated in the French town of Arles. Joining forces to create OpenWalls was a natural collaboration, combining the shared philosophies of these two institutions. Both are committed to championing the latest in fine art and contemporary photography - one within the pages of its historical journal, and the other within its remarkable 17th century setting.
OpenWalls began with an open call for photographers, seeking work responding to the theme Home & Away. Each of the 50 shortlisted images in this exhibition captures a sense of belonging, escapism and identity, and were selected by our panel of judges, comprised of Genevieve Fussell, Senior Photo Editor at The New Yorker, Julia de Bierre, Gallery Director at Galerie Huit Arles, and Simon Bainbridge, Editorial Director of British Journal of Photography, among several others.

The aim of the open call was to create an exciting group exhibition, positioned in the heart of Arles during Les Rencontres d’Arles, with the images coming together to conjure a powerful and varied sense of place. Three finalists have been invited to Arles to personally attend this exhibition for themselves. They are Gregory Michenaud, Louise Hagger and Urszula Tarasiewicz, and one will be announced as the overall OpenWalls Arles 2019 winner at the VIP preview of the exhibition.

&

© Louise Hagger

Galerie Huit Arles

8, rue de la Calade
13200 Arles, France
Tel : +33 (0) 6 82 04 39 60
email :  julia@galeriehuitarles.com​

©2020 by Galerie Huit Arles

Please follow us on 

  • Instagram